My scale died — Hallelujah!

Actually I have two scales in my downstairs bathroom. One was made of clear glass with just a simple digital number panel. Don’t ask me why, but later I decided I needed one that could measure body fat.

Some days my mood was determined by the number that popped up. If I didn’t like the number, I’d tilt slightly to one side to see if went down. Or I just knew that taking my socks off would shave off o.1 pounds.

Can you say scale slave? I was trapped in an all or nothing mode, letting a machine decide whether I’ll have a good day or a crappy one. I let the scale determine how much I was going to beat myself up for sneaking in that bowl of ice cream the night before. I allowed my scale immense power over me, and you know what? IT DIDN’T HELP!

It didn’t get me to consistently eat less or healthier. It didn’t push to get to the gym more often. I still “cheated” on my diet and made excuses for why I did.

Here’s what I didn’t pay any attention to: HOW MY BODY FELT.

Like millions of others on diet programs, I read all the material and followed the directions. That turned me into a food robot. I was so busy counting fat grams, weighing my food and inputting everything I ate into a spreadsheet that I didn’t allow myself to assess how I was physically feeling.

I’m proposing a new focus for you: TO FEEL GOOD.

Let your body be the guide to that. Start learning to be intuitive. After you eat something, listen for your body’s response. Are you sluggish, wired, overly thirsty, bloated, still hungry? Mentally keep track of these messages. The amazing thing is that your body is really programmed to want to be fed well — like a well-oiled machine.

What will not be well-oiled right now are my scales. They will sit, broken and untouched — powerless.

Now tell me, how will you start applying body intuition?

Posted on April 19, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. This is one of my favorite subjects! I always try to eat intuitively, but it’s not always easy to apply the information I glean. For instance, I know that processed sugar doesn’t sit well with me, as a general rule. But not always, and quite frankly I’m not giving up ice cream on a permanent basis. So I still have trouble calibrating my internal compass to precisely tell me when I can handle a bit of sugar and when I can not. But I’m working on it!

  2. Ever notice how consumed we can be with weighing food, counting carbs, points, blah blah blah? How about just noticing. Pay attention: how does your body feel when you’re hungry, or thirsty, or too full? How do you feel after having wheat, caffeine, spicy food, sugar…bloated, crabby, wired, exhausted? Hey, that’s your body talking to you. Are you listening?

  3. Have you seen the image from Pinterest where the scale has all sorts of nice messages pasted on it? I think we should start adding encouraging words to all scales! Great post Cindy. 🙂

  4. Learning to listen to my body…to take how I’m feeling after a meal and then connecting the dots has been huge for me in how I see myself and feel about my body. Loved your post!

Leave a Reply

